Administrative district of Görlitz

In January 2008, the laws relating to administrative and functional reforms were adopted by the Saxony State Parliament [Landtag], resulting in the establishment of ten new administrative districts in Saxony on 1st August 2008. The administrative district of Görlitz was formed from the former Lower Silesian Upper Lusatia District, the administrative district of Löbau-Zittau and the town of Görlitz, until then an independent town. Görlitz is the district town, which also gives the administrative district its name. 

The administrative district of Görlitz covers an area of 2,106.1 km² which corresponds to 11.4 per cent of the area of the Free State Saxony. Thus, it is the third largest of the administrative districts in Saxony. The northernmost village is Köbeln near Bad Muskau and the southernmost point is the high forest near Oybin at a distance of 99 km by road. The easternmost point is Zentendorf and the westernmost village is Mulkwitz. The lowest point is in the Neiße valley, the highest point is the Lausche (793 m) in the Zittau Mountains. The 15th meridian passes through the district town of Görlitz. Görlitz local time constitutes the official time in more than 44 countries.

54 communities live in the administrative district of Görlitz, which is made up of 14 towns and 271,000 people. Görlitz is the most populated town with an estimated 55,000 inhabitants. 

Download of the administrative district brochure as a PDF

The latest overview of the population of the administrative district of Görlitz is available on the website for the State Statistical Office of the Free State Saxony

Population:  271,400 (as of 31.07.2012)
Population density:  130 inhabitants per km²
Area:  2,106 km²
Communities:  54, among them 14 towns
National border to Republic of Poland:  approx. 128 km
National border to Czech Republic:  approx. 65 km
North-south-median:  approx. 85 km
East-west-median:  approx. 30 km
Görlitz Administrative District Office/ Landratsamt Görlitz
Bahnhofstraße 24
02826 Görlitz
Postal address
Görlitz Administrative District Office/ Landratsamt Görlitz
(name of the office)
PF 30 01 52
02806 Görlitz

Office hours

Overview of the locations and offices for district administration